IP usage

Author: Tunnelr.com on February 14, 2011 | Print | Bookmark
All clients on each Tunnelr node share the same IP. Due to the price that we are able to offer our tunnel service for, it would be incredibly difficult for us to pay the server costs and offer dedicated IPs for each connection. This does not mean that you share any sort of information - it just means that you, and ten other people have the same public IP address.

It is also important to note, that to most users, this will not make any difference. This only applies if you plan to run accessible services on your own personal machine while tunneling via OpenVPN.

It's perfectly safe to be on the same shared IP. However, you are not actually "using" the shared IP - it is just an "exit" interface on our server. Your computer actually gets assigned a local /30 from a 10.x.x.x network for the tunnel endpoints (this includes a gateway ip, broadcast and one usable ip) and we specifically disallow communication between the separate /30's.

Think of it as if you are on your own small segregated VLAN - the only local IP's that you are able to communicate with are yourself and the server endpoint (us). To some extent it is possibly even safer to be on a shared IP, as it is very difficult to pinpoint 'actions' to a certain user and requires quite a bit of work. Whereas with a static IP, it is a very simple association: 'this IP did something bad; our configs point to this account'.

If you have any additional questions or comments, please feel free to contact us at support@tunnelr.com

Was this article helpful?

Yes No

Category: Connectivity

Last updated on August 11, 2011 with 2761 views